Jeff Carter
Life is a riddle; unfortunately the answer's are not written here.

Foursquare: A New Way to Track Waldo

Foursquare is a new, up and coming social site/app that is becoming valuable to those who use it. Foursquare allows you to let people know where you are and pass along advice. The best way to describe it is by imagining that Twitter and Facebook had a child and that child was on crack.

There is also a point system that goes along with this site. By updating your status more and more, you will earn points. These points will then earn you badges. Some of you are probably wondering, “what’s the point of all this?”

If you frequent a place enough times you can become the mayor. By being the mayor this will allow you free offers, that is if that business participates in the Foursquare network.

That is just the quick shorthand version about what Foursquare offers. You can see where it has the potential to benefit a business. People will begin to try and frequent a business more than the others so they can be dubbed the mayor. This will cause the business to have an increase in sales and potentially bring in new customers.

This site does present a potential issue for the individual user. An individual could be working and took their normal lunch break. The catch is that this individual decided to update their foursquare status as usual and did not think about the fact the business he/she was in is a well known bar. Whether this person was drinking or not isn’t the problem. The problem is what everyone else is thinking. A business owner does not want an employee who could be portraying the company in a poor manner. This could potentially cost this person their job.

One good thing Foursquare did was not allow you to earn points during normal workday hours. This was probably done in order to keep situations, like the example previously given, from happening.

8 Responses to “Foursquare: A New Way to Track Waldo”

  1. I agree with the potential threats to the individual user. I personally would not want people to know everything I am doing on a daily basis. It would be an invasion of privacy I think. I think the game would be fun and would become a game similar to the ones on Facebook, such as Farmville. I found an article discussing how much people in London already use Foursquare. It is also a great tool for businesses so long as the business comments were positive and good for their image. The comments are good for name recognition for the business.

  2. I liked how you compared using Foursquare to tracking Waldo. So true. I do not think I would ever use Foursquare because first of all, I do not have a phone with Internet. I also do not necessarily want anyone knowing where I am at all times, even my family and friends. If they need to know, I will tell them! In my opinion, social media programs such as Foursquare are silly and unnecessary. For me, using Facebook and Twitter is plenty. I can see how it can benefit businesses and be fun to sort of play a game, but it is a waste of time to me. I barely have enough time to write in my blog, let alone try to be the mayor or some fake city!

  3. Thanks for your thoughts on Foursquare. I have really mixed opinions on the whole service, though I did write a blog about it. There’s some neat functionality, but I’m not sure if it’s the best way to make the product work. Twitter and Facebook can also serve as useful tools, and I wonder if it’s an extraneous Social Media service.

    Anyway, just my two cents.

  4. Hey Jeff,
    I really liked how you compared Foursquare to the game where’s Waldo. It’s really true! It’s the real life version of the book. I actually have a foursquare account and have been kind-of disappointed by the fact that there aren’t a lot of my friends that are using the site. I got it just to see what its all about. However, I do agree with what you are saying about the potential dangers of the site. Whenever I post my location to the site, I always make sure that I post the place that I am leaving or have been.
    -Meghan

  5. Wow.. this sounds crazy! Talk about Facebook and Twitter being intrusive.. this takes it to a whole new level! I will admit right here in from of everyone, I am not a Twitter user. I’m sure some of my teachers would just die to know that but I’m just not into updating my status ALL THE TIME. I just don’t see the point. This Foursquare site sounds like even more work than Twitter. I suppose it could be helpful for businesses but really, I think it’s just asking for trouble. just like the situation you explained, I think telling people what you are doing at all times is not only annoying but dangerous. Who knows who’s reading that stuff and what they could or are doing with that information. I just don’t think this site is a very good idea.. just my opinion. Thanks for sharing though Jeff!

  6. […] 19. Comment on Jeff Carter’s Blog: Foursquare: A New Way to Track Waldo April 21, 2010 Wow.. this sounds crazy! Talk about Facebook and Twitter being intrusive.. this takes it to a whole new level! I will admit right here in from of everyone, I am not a Twitter user. I’m sure some of my teachers would just die to know that but I’m just not into updating my status ALL THE TIME. I just don’t see the point. This Foursquare site sounds like even more work than Twitter. I suppose it could be helpful for businesses but really, I think it’s just asking for trouble. just like the situation you explained, I think telling people what you are doing at all times is not only annoying but dangerous. Who knows who’s reading that stuff and what they could or are doing with that information. I just don’t think this site is a very good idea.. just my opinion. Thanks for sharing though Jeff! […]

  7. Okay yes…now after reading your blog about foursquare i now understand it and i wrote a blog about it as well. I don’t know how comfortable i would be about letting someone know my exact whereabouts. I have been seeing people’s locations and wondering what the little map meant. I am on twitter all the time and so are a couple of my followers and talk about a constant update. They would probably update us on them being on the toilet if they thought we’d care. I wonder if you could be the mayor of that. Anyway, thanks Jeff, you really explained the whole foursquare thing and now it all makes sense!

  8. […] Foursquare: A New Way to Track Waldo […]


Leave a Reply

